Public Works

Responsibilities of the Department
The Department of Public Works (DPW) services customers throughout the Town of Bethlehem, as well as parts of the Town of New Scotland. DPW is broken down into five divisions:     
  • Administrative Division - The Administrative Division operates the Customer Call Center for the town and processes all water and sewer bills.
  • Engineering Division - The Engineering Division is responsible for review of all planning projects, design, and construction of town infrastructure projects, and support of other town departments with necessary engineering expertise.
  • Field Operations Division - The Field Operations Division maintains 190 miles of water system pipeline, 160 miles of sewer collection pipeline, 37 sewer lift stations, and eight water storage tanks.
  • Water Treatment Division - The Water Treatment Division maintains and operates the Vly Creek Reservoir, two water purification plants, and two water interconnections with the City of Albany.
  • Wastewater Treatment (Sewer) Division - The Wastewater Treatment Division maintains and operates the town's wastewater treatment plant.
The Department of Public Works employs 60 people.

Know Before You Dig
Planning a home improvement job? Planting a tree? Installing a fence or deck? Wait! Here's what you need to know first.

Whether you are planning to do it yourself or hire a professional, smart digging means calling 811 before each job. Homeowners often make risky assumptions about whether or not they should get their utility lines marked, but every digging job requires a call – even small projects like planting trees and shrubs. Visit the Call 811 website for more information.