The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified by the court if, for a period of 60 days from the return date, last adjournment date, or the date a fine / surcharge is imposed by the court, you failed to appear or to pay the fine/surcharge.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles is not authorized to terminate a suspension for failure to appear or to pay a fine/surcharge until they are notified by the Court that you have paid a $35, cap at $200, (for older tickets only) Scofflaw Suspension Termination Fee and appeared in Court or paid the fine/surcharge; as of July 6, 2009, that fee is now a minimum of $70 per ticket with a cap of $400 total. (A service fee of 2.99% of the payment amount will be assessed on all credit card payments.) The Suspension Termination Fee is not payable if you appear or pay the fine/surcharge before the suspension date indicated on the form. The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles also recommends that motorists carry their copy of the suspension release for at least eight months.